A Mad Tea Party, and The March Hare’s Staring Eyes

–you should say what you mean,’ the March Hare went on.
`I do,’ Alice hastily replied; `at least–at least I mean what I say–that’s the same thing, you know.’
`Not the same thing a bit!’ said the Hatter. `You might just as well say that “I see what I eat” is the same thing as “I eat what I see”!’
`You might just as well say,’ added the March Hare, `that “I like what I get” is the same thing as “I get what I like”!’
`You might just as well say,’ added the Dormouse, who seemed to be talking in his sleep, `that “I breathe when I sleep” is the same thing as “I sleep when I breathe”!’
`It is the same thing with you,’ said the Hatter

-Lewis Carroll
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

 When I was a little boy, someone had hung a poster in my room. It depicted a March Hare with the most disturbingly deranged stare I’d ever seen. One day, I covered the insane eyes with banana stickers, but that was no good. The eyes were so large, you see, that I’d barely obscured the pupils. The effect was even more surreal.

 That night, in my dream, I sat huddled at the head of my bed, and pulled the covers up to my neck, as the March Hare muttered creepy, cryptic phrases, while staring out at me from the poster. Then, a wolf’s head made of Legos came hopping on its hinged jaw, across the floor toward the bed, snapping at me. I snatched it out of the air, and threw it as hard as I could, hoping it would shatter against the far wall, and possibly take the poster down with it.

 Whether or not the wolf’s head survived the impact, I can not say. I do know that the March Hare’s staring eyes stayed with me, haunting the dark recesses of my mind. I have tried to capture those eyes in the illustration above.

“A Mad Tea Party” illustration by 
Master Nick Roberts © 1996
This piece and a plethora of others are available!
http://www.facebook.com/TheArtOfMasterNick
 
See you tonight, my steadfast subscribers at Club Reverence, and back here as well, for another look at the beautiful and bizarre!

Leave a Reply

