Setting The Mood for Monsters

Effective writers evoke powerful feelings, but how can a writer conjure up that feeling before ever committing it to the tale?
I shall share a favorite approach. One art form can inspire another.

Master_Nick-gramophoneI hear music when I write.
I specialize in horror—dark fantasy in particular, as I prefer monsters to slashers. When choosing music to accompany the act of creation, I seek a particular mood, and something to put me in an environment like that of my fiction.

I often listen to horror film soundtracks and other dark instrumental music.
I’ve collected themes from Stephen King, Clive Barker and John Carpenter films, as well as from The Ninth Gate, Phantasm, The House on Haunted Hill remake and so on.

I’ve also assembled playlists for specific sub-genres.
Master_Nick-gonzombie3DWhen a tale features zombies, I listen to a tracks from the original Dawn of the Dead, 28 Days Later and Resident Evil among others.
If I’m writing about vampires, I play the orchestral scores for Queen of the Damned and Subspecies, with a few tracks from The Hunger, Underworld and Francis Ford Coppola’s Dracula. Midnight Syndicate’s album “Vampyre” fits nicely as well.

The music puts me in mind of all that I love about dark fantasy, as I hope my writing is enjoyed by other fans of the genre.

Nick Roberts
Author of “Gonzombie and Other Dark Tales”
http://tinyurl.com/gonzombie

Come again for more of the beautiful and bizarre!
http://www.etsy.com/shop/MasterNick
https://www.facebook.com/TheArtOfMasterNick

All images © 2013 Nick Roberts

Leave a Reply

