Writers on Writing: Blog Tag

master-nick-roberts-YorickI am IT!
No, I’m not a homocidal clown out of a Stephen King novel (though I could easily be mistaken for such.)
Lily Wight tagged me. Now I must chase ’round within my own brain for answers!

Q.     If you were interviewing someone for a writing job, what 3 qualities would you seek?

A.     1. Do they have a basic understanding of spelling and grammar (or at least a working knowledge of Spell Check?)
     2. Have they a history of meeting deadlines?
     3. Have they senses of horror, humour and/or erotica that tickle my particular fancy?

Q.     Have you ever been made redundant from your job and how did you feel about it?

A.     After years of study in Advertising Art, I decided for myself that I’d be redundant in that field. There are already more than enough people trying to manipulate their fellow humans into buying useless junk.

Q.     What is your favorite board game and why?

A.     I don’t make much time for board games, but having a taste for wordplay, I do enjoy Scrabble.

Master_Nick-RecaptureDetailQ.     When you look at the stars, what do you see?

A.     As starlight takes so long to reach us, I see the distant past. As a fan of Star Trek and Doctor Who, I see potential futures.

Q.     When you look at the ocean, what does it remind you of?

A.     Sharks, pirates, desert isles, the vastness of world.

Q.     How do you overcome writer’s block?

A.     I’ll get back to this one once I’ve overcome the current bout.

Q.     If you could say 3 encouraging things to another person, what would they be?

A.     1. You are worthy.
     2. You are awesome!
     3. You are ready!

Q.     Do you prefer to write your stories on paper first, then type them up and edit them, or do you like to type them straight into your computer to edit?

A.     I prefer composing on the computer. This probably has something to do with my bad habit of editing as I go.

Q.     Do you like writing in one genre or more?

A.     I like writing horror, but from time to time my twisted sense of humour slips out, as does an even more twisted sense of erotica.

Q.     As a writer, do you think actions speak louder than words?

A.     As a writer, words are my action.

Q.     What is your favorite quote and why?

A.     “Do I look like someone who cares what god thinks?”
     This is quote from Pinhead of the Hellraiser film series. To be clear, I neither worship nor see any evidence of either deities nor devils. They are fictional characters who’ve been taken far too literally for far too long. As most people aren’t gullible sociopaths– (gullible, but not violent sociopaths–) we don’t need promises of posthumous reward nor threats of eternal torment to be good people. Basic human compassion can be enough.

Master_Nick-gonzombie3DFor those who do crave the bold taste of Hell on Earth, get your copy of “Gonzombie and Other Dark Tales” now at amazon.com!

Edited by Suz deMello, best-selling author of vampire erotica and other fiction, this collection is recommended for mature readers (i.e. immature yet literate adults.)
http://tinyurl.com/gonzombie

Nick Roberts
Author
a.k.a.
Master Nick
Painter

http://www.facebook.com/TheArtOfMasterNick

Tag! You’re it!
http://juliangreigh.wordpress.com/
http://fearlessfastpacedfiction.wordpress.com/

2 Responses to “Writers on Writing: Blog Tag”

  1. Great answers – it was good playing with you! x

Leave a Reply

