Modeling Tip 5

Master_Nick-ncnf2012ukLast night I took a brief break from the ongoing modeling tutorial to display my art, shill my first book, and more or less rhythmically spank my Living Percussion Section in an Uberkunst performance. I broke yet another paddle, and the skin on my right hand. (Good thing I’m a Southpaw!)

Instagon played a great set before us, and Captured by Robots capped the night beautifully with an animatronic band, psychedelic visuals, and musical skill. It’s shows like this that make me miss drumming and singing on a regular basis. Still, there are only so many hours in a week, and the muse insists that I paint between books. To that end, models come pose before my camera, playing the characters who populate my worlds. However, some bring third parties to the shoot, without having cleared them first.

This, my friend, is what’s known as a big no-no.

• Don’t bring unannounced guests to work.

Unless the artist/photographer has agreed in advance to a specific guest on the set, no such guest should presume to cross the threshold. Some people may actually like unexpected visitors, but artists tend toward reclusion, and even the average person doesn’t work well with someone breathing down their neck.

 Years ago, I did one shoot at the home of actress I know. Throughout our work, her roommates kept popping in to gawk and make crass comments. Virtually every shoot I’ve done subsequently has been in my own space, and still the rubber-neckers, meddlers, and space hogs wander in. But why?

master_nick_tragic-romance Some models fear working with someone new, and want to have a person they know close at hand. Unfortunately, the concern is not always unfounded. From tales I’ve heard, I gather that there are creeps out there. However, inviting your gruff associate to loom over the set is not a practical solution.

 Trust your photographer, or don’t work with him. I imagine that you want to work with this creative mind for a reason. You know the reputation, you’ve perused their online portfolio, and perhaps seen their work displayed at some event. If not, then do your homework! Know what you’re getting into, and what the work will entail. Ask the photographer questions, and if you have any particular boundaries to your comfort level, state them clearly as far in advance as possible. Listen well, to get a sense of whether or not the photographer respects your terms, and listen to your gut!

 I also recommend letting someone know who you’re working with and when, and for goodness sake, let that same someone know when you’ve returned home safely, rather than trigger a false alarm!

 There’s a great deal more to this particular tip, and other entries to follow, so stay tuned!

Catch updates on exhibitions, publications, and more! http://www.facebook.com/TheArtOfMasterNick

For disturbing fiction, read “Gonzombie and Other Dark Tales” http://tinyurl.com/gonzombie

Featured Model of the Day: Artemis

Leave a Reply

