Flesh Behind the Scenes

“Now all we need… is skin.”
–Julia “Hellbound: Hellraiser II”
Master_Nick-CarnalVeil-step4
In painting “Carnal Veil” we’ve reached the step wherein the central figure starts to get her flesh tones.

On this occasion, ’tis fitting to share one particular detail of my process.

Having an artist’s brain– (in a jar on my shelf, and another in my skull–) I am prone to many distracting ideas at once. A picture is worth a thousand words, but however am I to complete a picture if I’m off acting in someone else’s story, or writing yet another one of my own?

I keep myself in front of the easel by listening to other tales on audio book. One of my favorites is The Hellbound Heart, read by the author, Clive Barker. As my sheep-masked damsel tries, modestly but ineffectively, to cover herself with a length of ribbon, I’m reminded of a line from that novella.

“He was trembling, poor lamb. Poor, bleatless lamb.”

I dare say that my own paintings tell tales of their own.
This one has more to say, so come again for more tomorrow!

Master Nick Roberts © 2014

Catch updates on exhibitions, publications, and more! http://www.facebook.com/TheArtOfMasterNick

For twisted fiction, acquire a copy of “Gonzombie and Other Dark Tales”
http://tinyurl.com/gonzombie

Leave a Reply

