The Mouth of Hell

Master_Nick-Blind_Seer3Seeing this painting progress, fellow artist Julian Greigh rightly perceived that the Blind Seer looks like one who might be found among the legions of Cenobites in Clive Barker’s Hellraiser series.

I do love the aesthetic of Hell, yet I am neither a masochist nor much of sadist. None the less, I feel a bit like a Cenobite just now. Since I woke yesterday, I’ve had a drill in my face, then a succession of pins in my head, followed by metal screwed into my jaw, and finally a needle through my gum. Since then, I’ve been spitting blood.

Yes, this madness was dental surgery. I received an implant that will, in time, serve as the support for a crown, replacing a tooth the cracked years ago. I most likely broke that molar by biting down on an unpopped corn kernal, quite possibly while watching a Hellraiser flick.

Despite the pain in my mouth, the painting must go on!

This brings me back to the Blind Seer. Notice the eyeball in the mouth. ‘Tis conceivable that this being is simply sucking on the orb like a bit of hard candy, and that what appears to be a mouth does indeed function as one. However, I suspect otherwise. I believe that is indeed an eye socket housed ‘tween the nose and chin, and that a fanged orifice lurks elsewhere. Such has not yet been revealed to me. That may be a blessing…

“Blind Seer” (painting in progress)
18″ x 24″ canvas

Look in again to watch the painting progress, learn something of this mystic figure, and to catch updates on exhibitions, publications and more! http://www.facebook.com/TheArtOfMasterNick 

For hellish fiction, acquire a copy of “Gonzombie and Other Dark Tales” http://tinyurl.com/gonzombie

Master Nick Roberts © 2014

Leave a Reply

