Been a pirate, a poet, a painter, a paraphraser…

I’ve been a poet and a pirate on the same night.
Master_Nick-Roberts-Pirate
I know, I’ve been going on just about every other day now about a particular Pirate Party. On that evening, Raven LaRoux and I celebrated an anniversary. On stage, I read a poem I’d written for the occasion, she danced, then the two of us unveiled a painting I’d done of her.

Every bit of that Anniversary poem has significance, but rather than drone on with an English Lit lecture on the whole thing, I wish to aim my fencing blade at one small section. You see, in pillaging pirate fashion, I lifted my look from another Roberts, and three loving words from his lips.

A fine cook, she served me
a hot, tasty dish.
When artwork she wanted,
I said, “As you wish.”
Master_Nick-Katra-censored
Most of these lines are mine. Mine, I tell you!

The “fine cook” line is fairly self explanatory– (yes, my sweetie is fine, a cook, and a fine cook–) just as the “…hot, tasty dish…” double meaning shouldn’t strain anyone’s brain.

The artwork referenced above is not just the “Katra” painting unveiled that evening. (That comes later, in the lines, “And now we return to share the grand tale, anniversary bliss, and with art to unveil.”) The first mentioned artworks were logos I created for Raven and for her dance troupe the Bodacious Bombshells Burlesque Revue, as well as flyers for BBBR events.

This brings us to, “As you wish.”

BBBR-logo4webThese days, well nigh everyone knows the Pirates of the Caribbean’s Captain Jack Sparrow. One must sail into yesteryear to find The Dread Pirate Roberts, beloved of The Princess Bride. Since high school, I’ve been a fan of William Goldman’s novel and film, “The Princess Bride.” Here’s a quote from the latter.

  “…She was amazed to discover that when he was saying ‘As you wish’, what he meant was, ‘I love you.'”

Now how could I dress as The Pirate Roberts on a romantic occasion and not borrow that bit?
‘Twas not an act of piracy, but an honest homage, a loving allusion!

At least, I hope you’ve found this an appropriate misappropriation.

For twisted allusions to George Romero, H. P. Lovecraft, Hunter Thompson and more, acquire a copy of “Gonzombie and Other Dark Tales” http://tinyurl.com/gonzombie

Sail in again to catch updates on exhibitions, publications, and more!
 http://www.facebook.com/TheArtOfMasterNick

“Katra” painting and “Anniversary” poem 
Master Nick Roberts © 2014

P.S.
Am I paraphrasing Frank Sinatra in this post’s headline?
Yes, I am.

P.P.S.
Pictured above: The Dread Pirate Roberts meets Captain Jack Sparrow. How cool is that?

Leave a Reply

