Monster Flesh, Comics and Movies

How To Rise Above The Swarm – Part 8
or
I see a monster and I want to paint it green!
Master_Nick-RiseAboveSwarm8
Recently, I shared a bit regarding the influence of graphic novels on my work. On that note, and while I’m drawing and painting the undead, I should give a shout out to Berni Wrightson, one of the greatest graphic horror illustrators of all time. I flatter myself that there’s a bit of Wrightson’s dark magic in my undead swarms.

Beyond the graphic novels, I also draw from horror films. In selecting shades for the skins of zombies, I sometimes give ’em a greenish hue, for that’s truly an old classic monster movie flesh tone. Even Boris Karloff’s black and white version of the Frankenstein Monster is painted green in the movie posters.

Blueish tones appear later, in flicks like the original Dawn of the Dead and on Linnea Quiqley’s character Trash from Return of The Living Dead. Speaking of RoTLD, yellow is another shade I select, inspired by the zombie that bursts out of the freezer, making a run for Clu Gulager.

These movies scare us, and yet we keep coming back. Imagining a zombie apocalypse, we even give more thought to storing a supply of water, non-perishable food, flashlight batteries and other goods that are useful in case of a real emergency. It reminds me of the motto of the late, great horror host Bob Wilkins, and adopted by at least one of his successors, Cinema Insomnia’s Mister Lobo. “Watch horror films, keep America strong!”

Here’s to facing what scares us!
It certainly enlivens the bodies in my body of work!

“Rise Above The Swarm”
Painting in progress
Master Nick Roberts © 2014

For zombie stories and other carnivorous fiction, acquire a copy of “Gonzombie and Other Dark Tales” http://tinyurl.com/gonzombie

Swarm in again to watch this painting progress, and catch updates on exhibitions, performances, publications and more! http://www.facebook.com/TheArtOfMasterNick

Leave a Reply

