The Show Must Go On, If Not One Way, Then Another

Master_Nick-naughty-nurse-1 Sometimes when you don’t get what you want, whatever waits just around the bend is even better, though it takes twice as much persistence to attain it. I may have mentioned this before, but in the never-ending struggle to achieve the next goal and the next, it can be easy to forget. None the less, circumstance keeps presenting reminders.

 Case in point, the most recent Bodacious Bomshells Burlesque Revue. For a show called “Naughty Nocturnes,” I wanted to croon a medley of songs from the 30’s and 40’s which would fit the theme. Alas, licensing issues got in the way. (Even I, a multi-media artist, regard as ridiculous copyright laws which bind up creative works so long after the creator’s death – but that’s a topic for a future entry.)

 A bit dispirited, I considered staying off the stage for this show. After all, I would already have my hands full displaying paintings my paintings and prints, and selling my first book. On that note, it became all to easy to regard any stage act as a distraction from work on the next book. If I did decide to perform, I had to come up with a new act fast. But what to do?

 The next book! Of course!

 Instead of singing someone else’s songs, I would write rhymed lines of my own, lyrics inspired by the characters, events, and setting of the new story. As I work on the act, I’d also be working on the book, for a version of the poem would appear within its pages.

Master_Nick-Naughty_Nurse1 While I’m glad that I was able to turn a setback into art, I must also point out that the act the dancer Angel Kitty and I performed turned out much darker than the sweet croon and dance number I’d originally envisioned.

 Gatekeepers, take heed! I will continue to create. I will get my work in front of audiences, with or without your assistance. When I encounter resistance, it only hones my vision. The work will always continue, but with a much sharper edge. Any attempt at hindrance will not reflect well on the world you try to sell. We’ll all be much happier if you work with me.

 If you don’t want people angry, don’t try to stifle their voice!

 Creators, of you’re serious about your craft, I say to you, don’t be stopped by roadblocks and red tape. Go over, under, around and/or through, again and again if necessary, in however many ways it takes.
Master Nick Roberts © 2014
P.S.

 Over the next week, I’ll shall reveal lyrics and more stills from the act, as well as a glimpse into the mind of a monster.

In the meantime, do peruse my first book of twisted fiction, “Gonzombie and Other Dark Tales” (edited by acclaimed author of vampire erotica, Suz deMello!) http://tinyurl.com/gonzombie

Catch updates on exhibitions, performances, publications and more! https://twitter.com/MasterNickCom

 Photographs courtesy of Sudden Snapshots!
Nick’s Make-up by Nick!

Leave a Reply

